Tuesday, 10 July 2012

[London 2012] Today's question (5)

Today's question remains on the same Athletics discipline as yesterday:

Who will win the Men's Marathon?

This race is historically one of the most interesting of all. As we all know, at this time the Kenyans and Ethiopians are the best. They usually win the major city marathons in the world. The question would be the same for the Olympic marathon: Kenya or Ethiopia? Selecting 3 competitors from each of this countries was a real challenge for their athletic federations.
The 3 Kenyans will be:

  1. Abel Kirui, two times world champion and 6th at the 2012 London Marathon (02h07'56")
  2. Wilson Kipsang (photo), winner of the 2012 London Marathon (02h04'44") 
  3. Emmanuel Mutai, winner of the 2011 London Marathon and 7th this year (02h08'01")

It was a surprise that Patrick Makau was not selected, being the current world record holder with 02h03'38", but this happened due to the fact that he did not finished this year the London marathon. Moses Mosop was initially selected, but he suffered from an injury at Achilles tendon and was replaced by Mutai.

Ethiopia will compete with:

  1. Ayele Abshero, a 21 year old marathoner with an incredible 02h04'23" at his first marathon ever (Dubai 2012) 
  2. Dino Sefir (02h04'50"), second this year at Dubai 
  3. Getu Feleke (02h04'50"), second this year at Rotterdam. 
The Rotterdam winner Yemane Tsegay was not selected because he ran in Dubai too, finishing 10th and the Ethiopian Athletics federation thinks it is too risky for him to run more than 2 marathons in a year. The previous world record holder and another Olympic legend, Haile Gebreselassie, was not selected because his performance has lowered in the last year.

Romania will send one marathoner after a long time: Marius Ionescu, with a PB of 02h15'32" at the Daegu 2011 World Championships. USA will send  Meb Keflezighi, Ryan Hall and Abdi Abdirahman, after the Olympic trials won by Keflezighi in 02h09'08". The Swiss Viktor Röthlin, European champion in 2010, finished 5th this year at Tokyo in 02h08'32".

It will be a tough race. Looking at the results so far, the battle will be between Kenya and Ethiopia as usually. The Olympic marathons have usually been tactical races, because winning was more important than breaking records. The good times of the 3 Ethiopians could not count at all if the Kenyan team sets a good strategy which will slow them down and make them lose energies. The Kenyan team has also the benefit of the London experience. Weather and general atmosphere conditions have always an influence of a marathoner's performance. My today's answer is: Wilson Kipsang, with Kirui coming in second place and Abshero third.

Final: Sunday, 12.08, 11:00 AM GMT


  1. Va castiga cel mai bun din acel moment. Toate pariurile sunt doar ca sa faca mai atractiva cursa din proba respectiva, indiferent care ar fi aceea. Raportat la numarul foarte mare de probe si de sportivi (care este si mai mare la o olimpiada), de putine ori castiga sportivul care era cotat favorit. Nu s-ar mai organiza pariuri, daca ar castiga mereu favoritii! Poate de asta are haz sa urmaresti concursul.

  2. Eu raspund la toate intrebarile pentru a vedea la final cat de mult m-am apropiat de castigatorul de la fiecare eveniment. Daca mai doreste cineva sa raspunda, poate adauga un comentariu si vom vedea cine a avut dreptate.

  3. bine. dreptate au castigatorii. intotdeauna.

  4. The Marathon was won by an athlete from Uganda: Stephen Kiprotich. Wilson Kipsang lead the race at some point but ended with the Bronze medal. Results:
    1. Stephen Kiprotich (UGA): 02h08'01"
    2. Abel Kirui (KEN): 02h08'27"
    3. Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich (KEN): 02h09'37"